Liefmans Fruitesse – Fruit Beer Friday

liefmans1

My summer obsession with Liefmans Fruitesse (LCBO# 379115) started when a good friend of mine ordered me one at Bier Markt on the Esplanade in Toronto, ON. I had just left a Jack White concert and was proceeding to cut a few rugs to the Bier Markt’s house band when Dave handed me a glass. Right away I knew it was a fruit beer by the colour and the smell, but it oddly came in what looked like a stemless wine glass full of ice. I won’t like this, I proceeded to tell him. Yes you will, Dave told me and boy was he right! Again I will state, I am not a huge fruit beer fan. It takes a special fruit beer to sway me away from my usual favourites. But this summer Liefmans has been that beer! It has a lower alcohol content, its fruit flavours are both refreshing and tart and it is just so delicious on a hot summer day because it is served over ice.

Here are some interesting facts about Liefmans:

  • Liefmans is a 300 year old Belgian brewery.
  • Maturation tanks at the brewery are filled with black cherries.
  • Liefmans Fruitesse is considered to be an appetizer beer.
  • The brewmaster, Rosa Merckx (aka Madame Rose), was the first female brewmaster in Belgium and has been at the helm of the brewery for around 40 years.
  • Liefmans Fruitesse contains fruit juices from cherries, raspberries, elderberries, blueberries and strawberries.

liefmans2

ABV: 3.8%

IBU: 7

Colour: Deep ruby red with pink mousse like foam.

Smell: Fruit jam, berries, cherry, sweet tart candies and cherry ice cream.

Taste: Tart berry, very effervescent, jammy, acidic fruit with slight tongue prickling. Black and red berry finish. Very juicy!

Food Pairings: Mild cheeses and summer salads or simply enjoy on its own out in the sunshine.

 

This beer is surprisingly addictive and I have yet to meet a male or a female who doesn’t develop an instant love of the brew. Have you tried Liefmans Fruitesse? Let me know what you thought of it in the poll below!

Cheers!

One thought on “Liefmans Fruitesse – Fruit Beer Friday

Leave a Reply

